Skip to content

Simple Twist of Fate

April 26, 2010

命. mìng. fate.

February 16, 2009 was my second day in China.  I was in the Central Business District (CBD) of Beijing at a Starbucks’s and picked up a Timeout Beijing magazine.  I learned that one of my favorite musicians, Jose Gonzalez, would be performing that night in Beijing at a venue called Yugong Yishan.  I had to go.

I ripped the page out of the magazine and after getting back to my apartment emailed the contacts that I saw in the listing.  A few hours later I received a response from the people responsible for organizing the event.  I was informed (surprisingly in perfect english) that there were tickets available and was encouraged to show up early.  Disoriented and filled with excitement from being somewhere far, far away I did exactly that.  It was the best night that I had in Beijing to this day.

The person responsible for all of this is Nathaniel Davis.  It is his company, Split Works, that I will be employed with this summer in Beijing.  Here is some media from that epic event (including my first amateur music video):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Note: Backstage I asked Jose if he had any plans for putting out new music.  He mentioned that he was in the studio with some people and hoped to have something out soon.  It seems they go by the name Junip and you can get a first-listen to some of it (not yet released) here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

